September 04, 2013: KESAVADEV AWARDS

9th P.Kesavadev Literary Award was bestowed to Padmavibhushan Prof.O.N.V.Kurup by Hon.minister for social welfare Dr.M.K.Muneer in an auspicious Award ceremony held at Symphony Hall on 4th September 2013 at 4.30 pm in Mascot Hotel, Trivandrum.

Dr. Thomas Mathew won the Diabscreen Kerala Kesavadev Award for his enterprising service to the community in creating awareness against chikun guniya and related epidemic illnesses of its kind. Sri.O.N.V.Kurup donated the award cash prize to P.Kesavadev Trust which takes care of the economically challenged with diabetes. Down the memory lane, Prof.O.N.V commemorated that the great novelist P.Kesavadev used to call himself the ‘literary proletariat’ and was elated to have the award named after Kerala’s revolutionary writer. Sri.V.D.Satheesan MLA, North Paravoor who felicitated the function reiterated that the Government will preserve the house of the prolific writer at Paravoor as a monument in his memory. Deputy Speaker Sri.N.Sakthan and Sri.V.Sivankutty MLA also felicitated the award ceremony.

Mrs. Seethaleskhmy Dev was the chairperson of the solemn function.
Dr.Jothydev Kesavadev made his welcome speech. Ms. Sunitha Jothydev gave vote of thanks.

More Pictures  
Previous | Home | Next